LRH Hosts 43rd Annual Volunteer Recognition Banquet

June 11, 2018

Littleton, NH - Littleton Regional Healthcare (LRH) recently held its 43rd Annual Volunteer Recognition Banquet. This year's theme was "Under the Sea" and the rooms were adorned with various ocean inspired decorations. The event honored LRH's many volunteers for their enthusiastic support of the hospital.

LRH volunteers
LRH volunteer, Mary Jane Merritt (left), is presented the "Jewel M. Fogg Founder's Award" by Jeanne Madden (right), daughter of the late Jewel Fogg.

LRH volunteers
LRH volunteers, Tom and Elaine Marshall (right and left), celebrate receiving the "Peg and Gene Clark Award," along with Amy Mancini, Volunteer Director (center).

Each volunteer received a gift card when checking into the event and were then treated to delicious appetizers and a formal dinner. Following dinner Amy Mancini, Volunteer Director, who dressed as "Mother Ocean" welcomed the volunteers and asked for a moment of silence to remember five deceased members of the Volunteer Program that passed away this last year. This included Donna Cruikshank, Ginny Dickman, Sue Friedman, John Goodrich and Dottie Sundman. A memorial table was setup at the event in their honor.

Erin Hennessey, Secretary of the LRH Board of Trustees, started the evening off by offering her sincere gratitude to the volunteers for their efforts at LRH. Bob Nutter, LRH President, went on to thank the volunteers and also announce numerous statistics about the program, including how LRH has over 220 volunteers; that volunteers donated over 19,000 hours over the past year; that we had 15 new volunteers start this past year; the Complementary Therapy Program logged over 75 hours of pet therapy; made over 966 patient visits; had over 294 reiki sessions; 55 aroma therapy sessions; 1 guided meditation session and 78 music therapy sessions. Nutter also noted that volunteers made 51 support visits for our patients and their families.

Mancini then proceeded to award pins for cumulative hours and years of volunteering. Volunteers receiving their 100 hour pins included Beverly Bettencourt, Jerry Diener, Perry Goodell, Rita MacLeod, Deb McKenzie, Linda McNamara, Pamela Ors and Rolf Zuk. 500 hour pins were awarded to Jesse Anthony and Brian Bain.

Receiving 1,000 pins were Lorraine Fougere, Patty Howard, Ginny Raichle, Toni Thomas and Mary Williams. Receiving their 1,500 hour pins were Barbara Bliss, Sheila Chase, Pat Curtis, Tom Duplissis, Guy Harriman, George Kirk and Kenyon Tuthill. 2,000 hour pins went to Candy Black, Steve Jordan, Sandra Monroe and Laurie Morgan. Jenny Fox and Mary Jane Merritt were the recipients of their 2,500 hour pins. A 3,000 pin was given to Pat Campbell and longtime volunteer, Margaret Harrigan, received her 6,000 hour pin.

Receiving their 10 year pins were Ethel Cooper, Pat Curtis, June Eaton, Shirley Lewis and Heidi Morrison. 15 year pins were award to Nancy Feenstra, Steve Jordan, Ed Klahre, Paul Lehmann and Sandra Monroe.

Next 10 new or returning volunteers were recognized for their recent efforts at the hospital, followed by awarding the 10 volunteers with the most hours this past year. Then came the special awards segment of the program that awarded volunteers based on the banquets "Under the Sea" theme. There were 6 special awards, including the "Make A Splash Award," the "Fin-tastic Award" and the "Whale of A Job Award," that recognized volunteers for specific skills or attributes. During this presentation over 30 volunteers were awarded for their efforts and received gifts, including an official LRH beach towel.

Jeanne Madden joined Mancini in presenting the "Julia M. Fogg Founder's Award" in memory of Jewel Fogg, founder of the Volunteer Program at LRH. This award is presented to the individual that best demonstrates the qualities and attributes essential to the founding and support of the Volunteer Program: care, compassion, leadership, community service and inspiration. LRH volunteer, Mary Jane Merritt, was the 2018 recipient of this award.

The final award of the evening was presented by Debi Clark-Valentine and Caryn Clark in memory of their parents, Peg and Gene Clark, who were longtime volunteers at LRH. This year's recipients of the "Peg and Gene Clark Award" were Tom and Elaine Marshall, for their dedication to service and the many hours of volunteer time donated to the hospital and local community.

For more information about volunteer opportunities at Littleton Regional Healthcare, please call Amy Mancini, Volunteer Director, at (603) 444-9207.

LRH Current News

Red Cross
Urgent Care Center
LRH Patient Portals
Patient Portals
The Alpine Clinic
The Alpine Clinic
The Doorway
Doorway Program
Events Calendar
Events Calendar