LRH Hosts 44th Annual Volunteer Recognition Banquet

June 17, 2019

Littleton, NH - Littleton Regional Healthcare (LRH) recently held its 44th Annual Volunteer Recognition Banquet. This year's theme was "Country Roundup" and the rooms were adorned with various country inspired decorations. The event honored LRH's many volunteers for their enthusiastic support of the hospital.

The appetizers were donated by the combined contributions of over 35 generous hospital employees and physicians. The dinner service was prepared by Juergen Spagolla, Director, and the Food and Nutrition Department. Over 15 hospital employees kindly served as wait staff at the event. Members of the Facilities Department, were essential to the setup and cleanup at the banquet.

LRH Hosts 44th Annual Volunteer Recognition Banquet
LRH volunteer, Ann Rioux (middle), is presented the "Jewel M. Fogg Founder's Award" by Jeanne Madden (left), daughter of the late Jewel Fogg along with son Stan Parker, Daughter-in-law Evangeline Parker and Bibbit Haney, Volunteer Director

LRH volunteer, Laurie Morgan, was vital to the success of the banquet, donating many hours prior to the event. Photographs were taken by Katelyn Murray, Social Media and Community Relations Specialist. Hospital employees Deb Wiggett, Administrative Assistant, and Tonya St. Cyr, Human Resources Business Partner, along with event volunteer, Lauryn St. Cyr, helped distribute the awards. Gail Clark, Director of Marketing and Community Relations, Deborah Gallagher, Pre-Cert Coordinator and LRH volunteer, Anna Rioux, helped with registration.

Each volunteer received a gift card when checking into the event and were then treated to delicious appetizers and a formal dinner. Following dinner Bibbit Haney, Volunteer Director, who dressed as "Marshall Haney" welcomed the volunteers and asked for a moment of silence to remember six deceased members of the Volunteer Program that passed away this last year. This included Geraldine Keenan, Katharine Lofgren, Alfred Moskal, Elvira Opalinski, Sherry Pinard and Donald Sargent. A memorial table was setup at the event in their honor.

Roger Gingue, Chair of the LRH Board of Trustees, started the evening off by offering his sincere gratitude to the volunteers for their efforts at LRH. Koren Superchi, LRH Vice President of Patient Care Services, went on to thank the volunteers as well.

LRH Hosts 44th Annual Volunteer Recognition Banquet
LRH sister volunteers, Faye Jennings (center left) and Shirley Lewis (center right), celebrate receiving the "Peg and Gene Clark Award," along with Gene Clark (left), Bibbit Haney, Volunteer Director (right), and Caryn Clark (right).

Haney then proceeded to award pins for cumulative hours and years of volunteering. Volunteers receiving their 100 hour pins included Jill Burger, Laurie Buxton, William Cole, Amanda Croteau, Nancy Diener, Mitchell Galasyn, Peggy Girouard, Lena Hemenway, Jean Kroeger, Mike Miscio, Joe Moritz, Lilo Rheinstein and Robert Schrader.

Receiving 500 hour pins were Geraldine Berger, Rita MacLeod, Ana Menendez, David Morency, Brenda Pineo, Harold Pineo, Lilo Rheinstein and Cindy Schieman.

Receiving 1,000 pins were Lauren Dill, Chick Jordan, Judi Lavin and Kathy Somerville. Receiving their 1,500 hour pins were Tom Campbell, Nate Carmen, Maryann Langdoc, David Pelletier and Ellie Opalinski. 2,000 hour pins went to Dottie Herbert, Ray Hopkins, Ed Klahre, Sandy Lozeau, Elaine Marshall, Luci Pineault and Donna Wright. 2,500 hour pins went to Nancy Collins, Priscilla Deane, Steve Jordan and Beryl Klahre and Maggie Starr. 3,000 hour pin went to Faye Jennings. A 3,500 pin was given to Nancy MacNeil. 6,500 hour pin went to Margaret Harrigan.

Receiving their 10 year pins were Sue Buteau, Tom Campbell, Sheila Chase, Dan Cullen, Jenny Fox, Jeff Howard, Patty Howard, Reg LaFlam, Maryann Langdoc, Daphne McDonald, Mary Jane Merritt, and Ellie Opalanski. 15 year pins were awarded to Ray Hopkins, Jan Kotok and Linda Mordhurst. 25 year pin was awarded to Pat Campbell.

Next 20 new or returning volunteers were recognized for their recent efforts at the hospital, followed by awarding the 10 volunteers with the most hours this past year. Then came the special awards segment of the program that awarded volunteers based on the banquets "Country Roundup" theme. There were 8 special awards, including the "The Team Roping Award," the "Whip Crackers Award," "Trail Course Riders Award," "Fence Builders Award," Seasonal Ranch Hands Award," "Lone Ranger Award," "Calamity Jane Award," and "Rodeo Queens Award," that recognized volunteers for specific skills or attributes. During this presentation over 30 volunteers were awarded for their efforts and received gifts.

Jeanne Madden joined Haney in presenting the "Julia M. Fogg Founder's Award" in memory of Jewel Fogg, founder of the Volunteer Program at LRH. This award is presented to the individual that best demonstrates the qualities and attributes essential to the founding and support of the Volunteer Program: care, compassion, leadership, community service and inspiration. LRH volunteer, Ana Rioux, was the 2019 recipient of this award.

The final award of the evening was presented by Gene and Caryn Clark in memory of their parents, Peg and Gene Clark, who were longtime volunteers at LRH. This year's recipients of the "Peg and Gene Clark Award" was given to sisters Faye Jennings and Shirley Lewis, for their dedication to service and the many hours of volunteer time donated to the hospital.

For more information about volunteer opportunities at Littleton Regional Healthcare, please call Bibbit Haney, Volunteer Director, at (603) 444-9207.

LRH Current News

Red Cross
Urgent Care Center
LRH Patient Portals
Patient Portals
The Alpine Clinic
The Alpine Clinic
The Doorway
Doorway Program
Events Calendar
Events Calendar